A Canorous Quintet

Picture of A Canorous Quintet

Silence of the World Beyond

A Canorous Quintet - Silence of the World Beyond ©1996 No Fashion
1. Silence of the World Beyond
2. Naked With Open Eyes
3. Spellbound
4. The Orchid's Sleep
5. The Black Spiral
6. The Last Journey
7. In the Twilight of Fear
8. Burning, Emotionless
9. Dream Reality

A Canorous Quintet is one of the many Swedish bands who latched onto that melodic death metal movement that erupted in the mid 90s, thanks to the earlier efforts by the likes of Dark Tranquillity and At the Gates. As you can tell by their band name, they display the tendency to pick an ominous sounding word, although canorous means tuneful or melodious. In fact, one might assume this was some string quintet playing the works of Bach were it not for the scary looking metal logo. See? Those logos have a purpose after all!

Anyhow, Silence of the World Beyond is the band's debut full length and even on an initial listen, one can tell this band was a few shades better than the run of the mill melodic death metal bands of the time. The band utilizes plenty of the dual guitar leads and rolling double bass drum rhythms. Vocalist Mċrten Hansen (who recorded with Katatonia members in October Tide) has an appropriately raspy delivery. In fact, anyone who has ever listened to any of this style will recognize all the characteristics of the sound. It just so happens that A Canorous Quintet's songwriting is just a bit better than the unwashed Swedish masses that attempted this style. What is more interesting is that in the slower paced numbers, the band reminds me quite a bit of Amon Amarth, who was also getting their start around that time period. Drummer Fredrik Andersson ultimately landed the drumming position in Amon Amarth, so connections between the band are warranted.

For fans of this particular substyle of metal, Silence of the World Beyond is worth seeking out. While it hardly redefines the genre, it does color in some of the edges to give a more complete picture of the scene as a whole. For whatever reason this album was overlooked at the time, but since it's above average, it's worth giving a listen even at this late date.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 05/2010

Back to top