The Abyss

Picture of The Abyss

Summon The Beast

The Abyss - Summon The Beast ©1997 Nuclear Blast
1. Satan's Majestic Empire
2. Blessed With The Wrath Of Evil
3. Damned
4. Summon The Beast
5. The Hymn
6. Cursed
7. Feasting The Remains Of Heaven
8. The Arrival

The Abyss is simply Hypocrisy with the members pulling the ol' instrument switcheroo. Their black metal side project is actually quite a bit more interesting than their day job, though I credit that to my larger interest in black metal as opposed to death metal. There is no messing around with keyboards, female opera singers, cellos or banjos in this project; rather this is the kind of black metal demons would listen to. Peter Tägtgen's unbelievable waterfalls of drumming and the classic black metal guitar lines should make the Abyss appealing to even the most evil of the naughty out there.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 10/1998

Back to top