Picture of Andromeda

Extension Of The Wish

Andromeda - Extension Of The Wish ©2001 WAR Music
1. The Words Unspoken
2. Crescendo Of Thoughts
3. In The Deepest Of Waters
4. Chameleon Carneval
5. Starshooter Supreme
6. The Extension Of The Wish
7. Arch Angel

Man, did these guys come from out of nowhere or what? After listening to this disc, I went in hopeful search of their other material only to find that this is a debut disc. Andromeda is Sweden's answer to the progressive metal scene, and what an answer they are! I don't like to use the word 'innovative' in my reviews, and I have only used it once before this review, but here we go again.

This is an innovative disc in every sense. From the opening seconds of "The Words Unspoken", you know you're in for the ride of your life. The sound is fresh and wonderfully new. The sound varies from track to track, each adding a new influence or taking a new direction. Some of the songs are worlds apart in sound, like "In the Deepest of Waters" and "Starshooter Supreme". The two tracks stand at opposite poles for the way they approach their themes. One is quiet and subtle and the other an all-out assault. One of the things that struck me most deeply was learning that the vocalist on the disc is not the band's full-time vocalist, but a stand-in. Lawrence Mackroy was hired to do the singing just before the band went into the studio. His performance is fantastic considering that he was not familiar with the songs and had not done any of the lyric or music writing. He captures the feel and variety of the sound very well and sings with enthusiasm and power. He ranges from melodic harmony to growling, heavy and raw.

Outstanding on the disc is the blazing guitar work of guitarist Johan Reinholdz. His play is very impressive. I've read that he is in his very early twenties which makes me think that Andromeda will be a real mover and shaker in the world of progressive metal in the future. His pyrotechnics blend in very well with the rest of the band in their singular effort to play very crisp sounding music. The songs are much more than quickly assembled frames for his guitar play. They move and flow with him and he has no trouble at all being in the background while the rhythm section has their fun, or while the keys cascade and thunder around him. At over ten minutes in length, the title track also shows a lot of promise for the future of this band. For a debut disc, it has a remarkably mature sound. This disc will see a lot of play time for fans of progressive metal.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 04/2001

Back to top