The Eternal Return

Arcanta - The Eternal Return ©1997 Projekt
1. There Is No God But God
2. Kyrie
3. Awake As If From Slumber
4. Maya (dirge)
5. Via Dolorosa
6. Into Thine Arms
7. Estranging Sea
8. The Solitary Pilgrim
9. Eleison
10. Bodhisattva

Dwelling roughly in the same musical region as Dead Can Dance, Arcanta's main focus is around the exotic and haunting vocals of Thomas-Carlyle Ayres. His voice sounds like all those gypsies you see in grade B movies featuring the deserts of Africa or the middle east. Much of the musical pieces revolve around his remarkable ability, though the instrumental passages are not unlike the more ethereal and ambient of the Projekt roster. Unfortunately, the sparse nature of some of the works tends to place the listener on a separate plane than the musicians. For ambient purposes or late-night mood music, this is okay...however, I would not choose it over other artists.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 10/1998

Back to top