Picture of Ashes

And The Angels Wept

Ashes - And The Angels Wept ©1998 Necropolis
1. Betrayed
2. Son Of Mourning
3. Eternal Feelings
4. Nothing
5. And The Angels Wept
6. To The Bone

Though this quartet looks as though they should be playing hardcore with their short haircuts, they are actually slinging metal in the same vein as Amon Amarth and Dark Tranquillity and doing it fairly well. Admittedly the market is being flooded with bands implementing all sorts of melodic-aggressive guitar tactics and howling vocals, but Ashes actually ranks in the top level of the second tier. "Nothing" is a very hard-hitting song with very punchy riffs while the title track is very reminiscient of yesteryear thrash with a nice lead overlaying it. "To the Bone" is very much a Motorhead-ish song that still retains its own identity. Hopefully Ashes will continue striving to develop their own identity down the line. As it is, they are on their way to being noticed as a contender.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/1999

Back to top