In The Spirit Of Mass Destruction

Avskum - In The Spirit Of Mass Destruction ©2000 Prank Records
1. Bullshit Offenders
2. Bulletproof
3. Under A Bloodstained Flag
4. Suck My Poverty
5. Rebel Vibe
6. Wall Song
7. The Bomb Is Our Future
8. Faceless Destructor
9. In The Name Of Democracy
10. World - AIDS - Justuce?
11. Punks Don't Bend
12. Punchdrunk
13. Shave The World

This is just ugly, angry and cranked hardcore with a dose of hatred thrown in for good measure. Avskum, who hail from Sweden, don't offer a whole lot in the way of inventiveness or surprising song twists on this thirteen song disc and that's precisely how they intended it. Despite the lack of variety between songs, there is something satisfying about this runaway locomotive of adrenaline and sharply focused anger. With guitars as heavy as many metal bands and a pacing similar to stock car racing, the songs fly by with passion and disgust at the world. To a degree I wish the band had a bit more to their repetoire than what's offered here; however, this sort of violent hardcore is what the band does well. The lyrics are pretty simplistic rants of anger and outrage at the world around them and the music conveys them well. Sure, vocalist Gunnar has about one tone to his bark, but it satisfies the intent of the songs just fine.

Avskum is definitely recommended to hardcore afficiandos out there who are striving to find something beyond the tough-guy, buddy-chant NYHC or Victory Records offerings. In the Spirit of Destruction, while not exactly genre changing, certainly will encourage youngsters to trash their bedrooms and act as the perfect soundtrack to any pissed off afternoon.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/2001

Back to top