Carnal Forge

Picture of Carnal Forge

Fire Demon

Carnal Forge - Fire Demon ©2000 Century Media
1. Too Much Hell Ain't Enough For Me
2. Covered With Fire
3. I Smell Like Death
4. Chained
5. Defacer
6. Pull The Trigger
7. Uncontrollable
8. Firedemon
9. Cure Of Blasphemy
10. Headfucker
11. The Torture Will Never Stop
12. A Revel In Violence

A quick glance at the song titles immediately warns the potential listener that Carnal Forge doesn't monkey around. And in fact it is quite apparent after a few seconds that they don't. Unfortunately, what they DO do remains unclear after several listens. The music is very fast, brutal post-Slayer thrash/death metal with painful Tom Araya-like vocals.

The musicians are clearly competent (as should be expected from a Century Media band). Quite a few of the riffs and the general spirit of the breaks scattered here and there recall Beneath the Remains-period Sepultura. Few guitar solos can be heard; a couple of them are mercifully short, bad and pointless (think King/Hanneman), while others are very competently played and somewhat interesting. The music rarely slows down, and Carnal Forge's version of slow still has little in common with most people's concept of slow.

The songwriting is not particularly varied and melody is all but absent (the break in "Uncontrollable" is a rare and welcome exception). Some of the riffs are fun and exciting, but most of them resolve in frantic sixteenth note pedaling on the detuned low-E string and eventually all merge into a less-than-memorable blur of pointless brutality. Nuance and control of dynamics are certainly not part of the singer's vocabulary.

Except for the atrocious vocals, there's nothing inherently wrong about this album, and somebody somewhere is bound to enjoy it. I simply don't have room on my racks for this.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 06/2001

Back to top 


Carnal Forge - Please...Die! ©2001 Century Media
1. Butchered, Slaughtered, Strangled, Hanged
2. Hand Of Doom
3. Fuel For Fire
4. Totalitarian Torture
5. Everything Dies
6. Slaves
7. Welcome To Your Funeral
8. Please...die! (Aren't You Dead Yet)
9. Becoming Dust
10. No Resurrection
11. A World All Soaked In Blood
12. A Higher Level Of Pain

Carnal Forge certainly won't earn any points for the fine art of subtle undertones with Please...Die! This lil disc is an example of The Haunted style Swedish death-thrash and although it is performed with great aplomb, vigor and vim, the result is a ho-hum and a yawn. There's nothing right offhand that is blatantly bad about Carnal Forge, except for the fact that this style of blisteringly fast and rip-snorting modern thrash isn't going to impress anyone if the songwriting isn't spectacular. Playing hard and vicious is one thing but if the songs are just a collection of tunes and riffs, very little actual impact will ever be made. It's like bludgeoning someone with a foam baseball bat. Yes, the victim gets the point but he's far from injured. Moreover, Carnal Forge's vocalist has a high, thin raspy yell that is monotonous and grating after, oh, thirty seconds.

Maybe there are fans out there who simply need a quick, vacuous fix of speed and aggression, but for listeners who demand a tad more from their music, Carnal Forge offers nothing but empty calories and junk food.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2002

Back to top