Cheap Trick

The Greatest Hits

Cheap Trick - The Greatest Hits ©1991 Sony
1. Magical Mystery Tour
2. Dream Police
3. Don't Be Cruel
4. Tonight It's You
5. She's Tight
6. I Want You To Want Me (Live)
7. If You Want My Love
8. Ain't That A Shame
9. Surrender
10. The Flame
11. I Can't Take It

Ever heard the phrase "The whole is more than the sum of its parts?" In this case, the whole is, oddly, less than the sum of its parts. Cheap Trick's The Greatest Hits works well as a collection of good songs that is suitable for insertion in mix tapes or on random play in a CD changer; however, it just doesn't hang together as an album. Although this disc contains some of the best, and certainly the most famous, songs of these venerable American rockers, something is strangely lacking with the collection. But this doesn't make sense, y'know? A Cheap Trick greatest hits album should be a triumph. How could it not, especially if it includes "Dream Police," "Don't Be Cruel," the famous Live at Budokan versions of "I Want You To Want Me" and "Ain't That A Shame," the Seventies anthem "Surrender," and their Eighties hit "The Flame"? In spite of all that, and I have no idea why, this album just doesn't click.

Review by Jonathan Arnett

Review date: 05/2000

Back to top