Citizen X

Crawling From The Wreckage

Citizen X - Crawling From The Wreckage ©2002 Self-Released
1. I Was Abducted By Shadow People
2. Procession Of The Equinox
3. Lamentations Of The Living Dead
4. The Haunting Of Lady Constance
5. Ignatious Bought A Hotdog
6. But, Oh! To Neglect The Monster
7. Chicanna Halo Morning
8. Die Noon
9. My Sister, My Dominatrix
10. I Burned All My Puppets
11. Accidentally I Dropped It
12. Reduced To Eating Rats
13. We Gladly Feast Upon Those Who Would Harm Us
14. Those Who Rot, Pine Away

One gets the impression from listening to Citizen X’s debut album that perhaps the members of the band approach their music in a far more cerebral and complex fashion than if they simply let their hearts dictate their musical direction. In all seriousness, I find that bands who jump the stylistic gamut every waking moment often make music for naught if there isn’t a hefty amount of emotion involved in the songwriting process. But in all fairness, Citizen X have created a psychotic, interesting album that is a more than apt documentation of the mind of the serial killer from which the band derives its name (or, to be put more succinctly, the pseudonym of the serial killer). The winning track is most definitely “The Procession of the Equinox”, which twists and turns in a prog/fushion mindfuck that would make Robert Fripp proud (or perhaps disdainful as he has been known to pontificate quite a lot) before suddenly stopping and transforming into a beautiful waltz that comes complete with violin and piano. Perhaps the listener would have a greater grasp of the music if they kept in mind the grisly murderer, Andrei Chikatilo (a.k.a. Citizen X), from which the band took its name. I suggest looking upon it as a more of a psychological study of the man who brutally murdered more than 53 young girls and boys from 1982 to 1990 before being eventually captured; a musical thesis, if you will. Needless to say, it would be interesting to hear what this band has to offer in the future.

Review by Alec A. Head

Review date: 10/2002

Back to top