Odd Fellows Rest

Crowbar - Odd Fellows Rest ©1998 Mayhem
1. Intro
2. Planets Collide
3. ...And Suffer As One
4. 1000 Year Internal War
5. To Carry The Load
6. December's Spawn
7. It's All In The Gravity
8. Behind The Black Horizon
9. New Man Born
10. Scattered Pieces Lay
11. Odd Fellows Rest
12. On Frozen Ground

To look at the line-up of Crowbar's fifth full length, Odd Fellows Rest, is to see a quiet assembly of allstars, self-evident to those at ground-zero New Orleans, to be sure, but noteworthy for anyone else paying attention. First of all, vocalist/guitarist Kirk Windstein and bassist Todd Strange also play in Down. Not bad? Drummer Jim Bower is the guitarist for Clearlight and the indestructable Eyehategod. Still not convinced? Guitarist Sammy Pierre Duet was largely responsible for the "insane" measure of Acid Bath's delicate balances of light and darkness and is currently terrorizing audiences with Goatwhore.

How clear it all seems. If you're thinking Odd Fellows Rest is in good hands, you're right, and yes, it rocks. For those who have been on board for any length of time, consider it another monumental brick in the pile; like early, slow Melvins, like early, slow Swans with big guitars, like early Eyehategod. You get the idea. Crowbar is still a synthesis of both doom and hardcore with a tendency for a pounding and crawling that is almost industrial in its stubborn consistency. There's some new developments here, like songs that flow rather than plod (especially "Planets Collide"), wielding a bluesy kind of continuity within and between riffs that Eyehategod perfected on Take As Needed For Pain (we might just call this "swamp metal" for brevity since it just don't sound right comin' from Iron Monkey). And, not for nothing, Windstein breaks out some pretty cool cleanish vocals that can only be described as melodic.

But this is still Crowbar, and if you're really into them and what Martin Popoff not inaccurately describes as their "black lung idea of fun", Odd Fellows Rest has what you're looking for. A word to the uninitiated: the four man facial-morph cover is not to be confused with any Queen albums and the band name is not to be confused with any cheezeball 70s rockers. The music, a slow-motion James Caan-style beating.

Review by Lee Steadham

Review date: 08/2001

Back to top