Picture of D.A.M.

Human Wreckage

D.A.M. - Human Wreckage ©1989 Noise
1. M.A.D.
2. Death Warmed Up
3. Killing Time
4. Left to Rot
5. Prophets of Doom
6. Terror Squad
7. Total Destruction
8. Infernal Torment
9. Vendetta
10. Human Wreckage
11. Aliens
12. F.O.D.

Every once in awhile I like to check out the ebay listings for out of print metal from "back in the day" (as it were). And often I come away flabbergasted at some of the stuff people are willing to fork over the big bucks. Case in point, D.A.M.'s Human Wreckage, which apparently commands $30 USD as of this writing. Perhaps it's because my belt is tightened one notch more than the average person or perhaps I'd rather put that same amount of money towards a nice bottle of single malt scotch, but this is an egregious example of foolishly throwing one's money away. I suspect that since Noise International, D.A.M.'s record label, released some indisputable classics in the 80s, people assume everything on the label is worth collecting. But there is a reason this band was relegated to the punchout bins. They simply were as mediocre as you could get.

Like every other longhaired wanker in the late 80s, D.A.M. latched onto the thrash scene. I will admit that if you set vocalist Jason McLoughlin aside, the members of D.A.M. were certainly competent musicians. However, their songwriting is undistinguished and utterly forgettable. Once you reinsert McLoughlin back into the discussion, D.A.M.'s thrash capital is even further diminished. The guy's voice is a cross between Overkill's Bobby Ellsworth and Gothic Slam's Daniel Gomes, except with less character than either. And when you consider Gothic Slam was also another also-ran in the thrash sweepstakes, you'll come to understand that D.A.M. was nothing but derivative and uninteresting. In fact, there's not a single song that even tries to stand out on this album, much less the thrash metal scene as a whole. Unless your goal is to collect every last mediocre and generic album from the era, there is absolutely no need to pay 30 cents for this album, much less 30 dollars.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 05/2010

Back to top