Dark Poetry

Demo 2000

Dark Poetry - Demo 2000 ©2000 Self-Released
1. Multimedia Track
2. End
3. Thrash The Weakling
4. Soldier
5. Fistu:-)
6. IUD
7. Hecate's Work
8. Flesh
9. New Idol

Dark Poetry plays very aggressive blend of various thrash-y subgenres of metal. One can hear a barrelful of black metal, a milliliter of Metallica, a smidgen of Steve Vai, a touch of Tool, a handful of hardcore, a batch of Viking-era Bathory in places, and even ambient with a disturbing keyboard piece making the transition into a twelve-minute-plus song at the end of this full-length demo.

The songs are fairly long (from five to twelve minutes), but the songwriting is strong and varied, in particular in "Soldier", "IUD" and the epic "New Idol". The songs go from high-speed black metal riffing to open-string ambient noise a la Tool to downtuned Pantera bludgeoning and back within one song. The singer sings a little, threatens a bit, and grumble-grunt-scream-screeches a lot, which makes me wish the band had spent more time on the vocals (melodies and technique) to bring them to the level of the instrumentalists. I suppose the vocal style fits in with the music, but I've never been a fan of this kind of delivery and this CD won't convert me.

The production is demo-y in some ways and album-grade in others. The instrumental performances are top-notch. The drums and vocals are very dry and a bit muffled, but the downtuned guitars are on a par with Machine Head and far better than the best Sepultura (and a great many black metal albums currently released by real labels). Synthesizers and samples can be heard here and there and add to the rather oppressing atmosphere. A multimedia track is also included on the CD.

The most interesting aspect of the band is their highly successful integration of influences that don't often talk to each other : black metal, thrash, hardcore, "regular" metal and ambient. I can only hope the vocals will include more melody and less flayed-alive screaming in the future, as "New Idol" seems to suggest.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 09/2000

Back to top 

An Ugly Little Freak

Dark Poetry - An Ugly Little Freak ©2002 Self-Released
1. Inanimate
2. Pressurized
3. Bloody II
4. An Ugly Little Freak
5. Fistfuk
6. Once
7. Fill It Up
8. Angel
9. Soldier

Full disclosure: The guitar player/lyricist/graphic artist in Dark Poetry is my brother. Now that that's out of the way, let's discuss this great little album, shall we?

Dark Poetry is a French band with roots in thrash, black metal, death metal (including the Swedish scene). The music is hard-hitting, medium-to-fast-tempo thrash metal (or what they call "power death") with mostly grunted but interestingly varied vocal styles, evoking bands such as Pantera, Haji's Kitchen, Metallica, Depressive Age, Coroner, Gardenian, and Cradle of Filth. But what is most striking about Dark Poetry is that they add a sprinkling of black metal rhythms, southern rock riffs and other unexpected breaks to their thrash metal foundation. Aided by superb musicianship and an ultra-tight rhythm section, the music pummels prodigious quantities of gluteus maximus and offers a much better outlet for one's inner aggression than wanton destructiveness and grievous bodily harm on one's fellow humans, especially when stuck in rush hour traffic. The ripping "Fistfuk," the epic "Soldier" and the melodic "An Ugly Little Freak" are particularly exciting, varied and skull-bashing tracks that are sure to make you drive a little faster than you intend to. Remember that headbanging is not recommended while operating machinery or motor vehicles.

If you like deathy thrash (or is it thrashy death?) and want to obtain this self-released CD, contact the band at darkpoetryzomik@hotmail.com.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 01/2003

Back to top