Dayinthelife - Dayinthelife... ©1998 TVT Records
1. Sign Of The Times
2. Chameleon
3. 10th In A Series
4. Rise
5. Self-serve
6. See You On The Way
7. Ceremony Of The New Empire
8. Open Wide
9. Side Effect
10. Killer In The Workplace
11. Welcome To The Other Side
12. Spin Control

My first awakening to Dayinthelife came courtesy of their opening stint with Coal Chamber and Human Waste Project, where Dayinthelife proceeded to steal the show and probably converted hundreds each night to their exceptionally well-done hardcore crossover bulldozer. Being among the converted, I had to rush up to their mechandise booth and get a tape. While not being quite the sonic assault of their live show (which is one of the failings of attempting to record a great live act on tape), it is still quite the product of angst, anger, and fury that marks the fertile New York hardcore scene. Singer George Reynolds, a veteran of Mind Over Matter, mentioned in press releases that he wanted to take this new outfit beyond girl songs and the result is angry songs concerning "Killer in the Workplace" which explores the all-too-true frustration many feel as the low end of the totem pole in the economic world and powerful lyrics such as "With my fingers in my throat/My stomach's on fire/And I'm running from hearing". While his voice quite often falls into Jane's Addiction territory without the one million studio effects of Perry Farrell, the occasional insertion of guitarist Josh DeMarco's voice makes for more diversity. The band is certainly a well-honed machine of rhythmic, heavy crushing rhythms that put them firmly in the same league as Unsane and other noise/hardcore NYC acts. It's been a long time since I've been this impressed with an opening band. Go see these guys or find their album. You won't regret it.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/1998

Back to top