Dimension Zero

Picture of Dimension Zero

Silent Night Fever

Dimension Zero - Silent Night Fever ©2002 Century Media
1. Silent Night Fever
2. The Murder-inn
3. Through The Virgin Sky
4. Your Darkest Hour
5. Not Even Dead
6. They Are Waiting To Take Us
7. Until You Die
8. End
9. Slow Silence

There are some side projects that baffle me. One would think a group of musicians would want to do something considerably different than their main outfits. Yet often in the metal world these side projects are nothing more than a bland faded watercolor of their better known bands. Dimension Zero is one such band that has their roots within In Flames and Marduk. Originally getting together in 1996, Dimension Zero featured the original In Flames guitar tandem of Jesper Strömblad and Glenn Ljungström with drummer Hans Nilsson and ex-Marduk vocalist Jocke Göthberg. Apparently they released what their press release suggested was an amazing EP called Penetrations from the Lost World in 1997 and then went back to their main bands. Now, the band is back and has offered us a nine song full length CD called Silent Night Fever, which, incidentally, is not a disco xmas album.

Whether their original EP actually was promising and amazing is hard to say. I can safely say that Silent Night Fever is anything but amazing or promising. Instead, it's a tedious exercise of four people playing music that offers no innovation, no sense of dynamics and nine songs of repetitive, bland music. I suppose you could look at it as an attempt to jackhammer their way through nine songs inspired by At the Gates, but I don't have anything against At the Gates and would hate to tarnish their name like that. The band plays at breakneck speed but the problem is that they stick to that nearly the whole way through. Now before you start emailing that the band has some slow sections, be aware that the moments where they slow down are quite unable to enhance the song structures of the album. Fact of the matter is you could hear the first song and get all the information on the band that you want. They're not exactly going for any sort of expansion beyond one schtick. It's essentially one songwriting formula stretched over an entire CD and those of us who like a touch of variety will be very disappointed. You can experience this album either by playing it clear through or by hitting repeat nine times on the first song. Either way, you get the entire Dimension Zero experience.

Maybe this is just a ploy for the band members to prove their main outfits aren't so tiresome after all. However, this comes across as yet another unnecessary side project that neither furthers each member's musical horizons nor enhances a listener's life experience.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/2002

Back to top