Carsten Endraß

Cat M-04

Carsten Endraß - Cat M-04 ©1997 Markant
1. Untitled
2. Untitled
3. Untitled
4. Untitled
5. Untitled
6. Untitled

Carsten Endraß, presumably a German electronic musician, took the concept of anonymous recording to a new level with his series of 12" vinyl releases on the Markant label. The series of untitled releases were churned out one after another for a few years, each in very limited numbers. Identified mereliy by catalog number, the albums featured no song titles and simply let the music speak for itself. Such planned obscurity may have created a small niche audience for his work as no doubt some people were attracted to the unorthodox method of releasing music.

Cat M-04 features six compositions that adhere to a cohesive sound that contains a bit of the atmosphere Autechre captured around the Amber period with slightly glitchy and distorted drum beats. The songs are not extremely complicated in arrangement, but do a good job with the minimalistic approach. Melodies are actually in abundance on the album and the music never deconstructs to background ambient sounds. Rather, the minimalistic approach is simply an uncluttered approach to creating the songs. In the end, this particular release is a soothing album that stands up well against most electronic releases.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 04/2009

Back to top