The Cross Of Changes

Enigma - The Cross Of Changes ©1993 Charisma
1. Second Chapter
2. The Eyes Of Truth
3. Return To Innocence
4. I Love You...I'll Kill You
5. Silent Warrior
6. The Dream Of The Dolphin
7. Age Of Loneliness (Carly's Song)
8. Out From The Deep
9. The Cross Of Changes

Enigma is basically what I consider to be the more commercialized, watered down, world music conscious version of In the Nursery. That's not to say Enigma is bad, but in a wrestling match, I'd choose In the Nursery any day when I want to hear this sort of music. Anyhoo, what Enigma essentially does is take a danceable hip-jungle beat and add layers such as a semi-symphonic keyboard array, exotic instrumentations and occasionally vocals that sound like they're sung out in some remote area of Africa. The result isn't too bad. It's that sort of music that can serve as good background music as you're reading a book or maybe playing solitaire on the computer. In other words, safe and mild. Enigma is rather relaxing and in that respect are all right for occasional late night wind-down music.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 04/1999

Back to top