Mind Games

Eternity-X - Mind Games ©1995 Angular Records
1. Firestorm
2. Mind Games
3. The Chase
4. The Savior And The Disease
5. Despair
6. Crawl Before You Walk
7. Viper II
8. Faith
9. Endless Journey
10. Eulogy
11. Eternity
12. Switchblade

Mind Games is the fourth album to be released by Eternity-X. It continues the writing style begun on Zodiac in that it too is a concept album. Eternity-X are very accessible to their fan base and their website includes in-depth looks at the concepts behind their albums.

Musically, this CD is progressive metal, with hints of early Queensryche, that moves outside the norms. Eternity-X are not content to be another Dream Theater clone. They offer a very diverse disc with this release. From "Viper II", a straight ahead rocker, to "The Chase", a two-minute bass solo, to "Eulogy", an acoustic track, this disc offers consistently interesting music. The vocalist, Keith Sudano, has a very good mid-range voice that he uses well. He frequently changes tone and inflection to make it sounds as though there are several different singers, using the over-dubbed vocals to make the vocal arrangements more complex. He carries the emotion of the songs very well, possibly better than any other singer I have heard. The guitars, keys and other instruments are all over-dubbed making the band sound much bigger than the sum of their parts. They play with a clean, tight arrangement.

Conceptually, this album is looser than The Edge. The story is certainly central to the songs, but they do not feel as integral as those on The Edge. However, considering how far ahead of Zodiac this disc is, it is the next logical step in Eternity-X's progression. Because the songs deal with the emotional roller-coaster common to life, there is a lot of emotion within the lyrics. As concept discs go, this one provides a good presentation and is an entertaining listen.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 06/2000

Back to top 

The Edge

Eternity-X - The Edge ©1997 Angular Records
1. The Edge...(Introduction)
2. Fly Away
3. The Confession
4. The Edge Part 2...(The Looking Glass)
5. A Day In Verse
6. Imaginarium
7. The Edge Part 3...(Existence Chapter 1,000.009)
8. The Edge Of Madness
9. Rejection
10. Baptized By Fire
11. The Edge...Legacy/Reprise

Clocking in at 74 minutes, this disc is a marathon opus for Eternity-X. The songs are long and wordy. The music is diverse and wonderfully written. The Edge is another concept album for Eternity-X and comes together much better than Mind Games with a very unified feel to it musically and lyrically.

The disc is progressive metal and then some. The keyboards are much further forward in the mix and more heavily used throughout. Keith Sudano excels in his singing, conveying the emotion and feel of the songs wonderfully. The only sore point I had with the singing was the use of a falsetto part in "The Edge Part 2...(The Looking Glass)". Keith has a very wide range of voices and his talent is considerable, but the falsetto would have been far better presented by a female vocalist. However, that is a very minor point when compared to the grand scheme of this disc. The story of one driven to the edge of sanity is presented with passion and dramatic moments in both word and music. Fans of Dream Theater's Scenes From A Memory will appreciate the complexity and presentation of the story. I'd compare it to Pink Floyd's The Wall in terms of content that focuses on the story although musically, it is heavier than The Wall. The similarity is in that the songs all drive the story forward.

The disc is filled epic melodic songs that paint a picture. The songs are not so much structured as in most metal discs (rocker, rocker, ballad, rocker, etc.). The songs contain multiple elements, some parts cooking right along, other parts sliding by in a whisper. I suppose the best description would be "subject to change without notice." All in all it is a very satisfying disc for a long drive. It certainly is not suited to random play since the songs are meant to be listened to in order. The growth the band has shown on this CD bodes well for their future releases.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 07/2000

Back to top