Evereve - Stormbirds ©1998 Nuclear Blast
1. Embittered
2. Fields Of Ashes
3. Escape
4. On Lucid Wings
5. Martyrium
6. The Failure
7. The Downfall
8. Dedications
9. Stormbirds
10. As I Breathe The Dawn
11. Spleen
12. Universe
13. A Part Of You
14. Valse Bizarre

Stormbirds was the rather interesting second album of Evereve, and regrettably the last with vocalist Tom Sedotschenko, who committed suicide shortly after its release. The album is a rich, textured experience, replete with angst-ridden lyrics and jarring arrangements. Structurally, the album is arranged in much the same fashion as their debut, with each song interconnected via short instrumentals and spoken word tracks. The songs find an interesting balance between extreme catchiness and complex dissonance. Intense melodic death metal runs throughout the compositions, punctuated with muted chord progressions and intricate melodic runs, occasionally erupting in metallic and bluesy soloing. The synthesizer work of Michael Zeissl is phenomenal; the music is simply awash in his keyboard textures, delicate harpsichord melodies interspersed with soaring choral effects and heavy organ jamming. The music is occasionally experimental in nature, sometimes playing with droning noise and at other times using progressively faster dance times to dizzying effect ("Valse Bizarre" for example).

Sedotschenko’s voice encompasses a vast variety of tones and inflections. The movement between death growls, high-pitched shrieks, nasal “goth rock” singing, low melodramatic drawls, and effeminate whispers, is amazingly fluid and continuously expressive. His lyrics are concerned with themes one expects from gothic metal: bereavement, despair, longing, mortality, and all that other jolly pseudo-existential stuff. However, his voice is so expansive and visceral that the lyrical themes, however cliché, are granted an unusual amount of power and resonance. Given the music’s powerful tapestry-like production, his vocal contribution is just all the more staggering. His voice, along with the music’s ample hooks and complex keyboard melodies, is really what sets Stormbirds apart from the gothic metal competition and really makes the album worth listening to. It’s also a really good album to listen to while wallowing in self-pity - never a bad thing in its respective genre.

Note: Tom Sedotschenko’s death was a real tragedy, as he was clearly one of the more talented (if tragically underrated) vocalists in the metal scene. Genuine vocal talent is something too often absent in the metal scene.

Review by James Slone

Review date: 04/2001

Back to top 


Evereve - Regret ©1999 Nuclear Blast
1. Misery's Dawn
2. Fall Into Oblivion
3. Kolyma
4. Redemption
5. House Of The Rising Sun
6. The Eclipse Of The Seventh Sun
7. Passion And Demise
8. Dies Irae (Grave New World)
9. Where No Shadows Fall
10. House Of The Rising Sun (limited Club - Edit)

Ever Eve's Regret is another one of those albums that leave the listener with a feeling that something really is wrong with it, but unable to pinpoint exactly what that something is. The music, a blend of The Gathering's Mandylion, Sentenced's Amok and Moonspell's Irreligious, is competently played. The singer slightly overextends his range downward, but not so that it becomes annoying. The keyboard sounds are somewhat more original than in most bands in the genre, incorporating some dance club influence (to wit, the full-blown and uninteresting club remix of the Animals cover tacked on at the end). The production is just fine.

So what IS wrong with this album? Is it that the main riff in "Fall into oblivion" is exactly the same as a The Gathering riff? Is it the lame cover of the Animals hit "House of the rising sun"? Is it that the singer actually is annoying with his overly dramatic low vocals? Or is it that simply this music is just simply average and unoriginal, and that being merely a blend of what other artists do just doesn't cut it? Maybe. In any case, this album shouldn't be at the top of anybody's most-wanted list.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 09/2000

Back to top