Gorefest - Mindloss ©1991 Pavement
1. Intro
2. Mental Misery
3. Putrid Stench Of Human Remains
4. Foetal Carnage
5. Tangled In Gore
6. Confessions Of A Serial Killer
7. Horrors In A Retarded Mind
8. Loss Of Flesh
9. Decomposed
10. Gorefest

Despite having one of the dumbest names around (Celine Dion fans won't be crossing over when they see this disc at the store), Gorefest has been a mainstay on the Dutch metal scene for years. My first encounters with the band was through various compilation albums and more recent tracks that showed their evolution into a very decent act, so listening to this is like taking the WayBack Machine. Complete with raging deluges of drumming, riff-o-rama, and gutteral noises that pass for vocals, Mindloss is a very solid death metal release that is probably in every hardcore death metal fans collection already, but won't do much to appeal to those outside the genre. Gorefest is better than most death bands, however, since they don't tend to make sudden time changes and have more a flow to their songs than, say, Deicide or any of the other legions of American death metal bands. However, the vocals are fairly mono-dimensional throughout and after awhile, I just want to take this out of my CD player. But I do look forward to digging up the rest of Gorefest's back catalogue to hear their musical evolution.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 07/1998

Back to top 

Soul Survivor

Gorefest - Soul Survivor ©1996 Nuclear Blast
1. Freedom
2. Forty Shades
3. River
4. Electric Poet
5. Soul Survivor
6. Blood Is Thick
7. Dog Day
8. Demon Seed
9. Chameleon
10. Dragon Man

Why is it fans of extreme music get so upset when a band strays ever so slightly from their original sound? After years of watching the fans hemorrage over musical progression, it's a wonder musicians even bother. Gorefest took a lot of heat for not sticking to their original death metal sound found on Mindloss and for the life of me I can't understand how those people can be so small-minded. It's not like Soul Survivor is a huge leap into an entirely new style of music such as industrial-dance-trip-hop or World Music. Have a sense of reality, people!

Perhaps the one concession the band should have made with Soul Survivor is changing their name from Gorefest to Groovefest, as that more accurately describes what they have going on throughout the album. Jan-Chris de Koeijer still does a gutteral depth projection with his voice, but it really fits nicely here. What the band seems to be doing is allowing more of a flowing, rock-n-roll (yeah, I suppose that's poison to some) style to allow their music to catch grooves and simply rock out. "Electric Poet" is a fine example of what they are doing: an undressed riff that makes your head bob. Other great tracks include "Freedom", "Dragon Man" and "Dog Day" with it's very melodic solo. I'm not going to say this is a definitive album but it is quite enjoyable on its own merits. Just forget what the death metal overlords say.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 11/1998

Back to top