Hate Eternal

Conquering The Throne

Hate Eternal - Conquering The Throne ©1999 Wicked World/Earache
1. Praise Of The Almighty
2. Dogma Condemned
3. Catacombs
4. Nailed To Obscurity
5. By His Own Decree
6. The Creed Of The Chaotic Divinity
7. Dethroned
8. Sacrilege Of Hate
9. Spiritual Holocaust
10. Darkness By Oath
11. Saturated In Dejection

This album is quintessential cookie-cutter ultra fast grindcore/death metal. Everything on it is utterly undistinguished, from the adynamic, amelodic vocals to the blitz riffs and faster-than-a-Dodge-Viper drumming.

The riffs are slightly less chaotic than, say, Cryptopsy, but on the messy side of Carnal Forge. I strongly suspect that the throne referred to in the album title is made of white porcelain and provided the singer with many a chance to hone his singing skills on nights of drunken revelry. A handful of melodic guitar passages can be heard here and there, but certainly not enough to satisfy anybody in search of more than relentless aggression.

While early grindcorists' experiments with speed, dissonance and astructuralism were cute and somewhat innovative in the mid-1980s, the formula gets old really fast. Recommended only to those who wished Napalm Death weren't such wussies.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 06/2001

Back to top 

King Of All Kings

Hate Eternal - King Of All Kings ©2002 Earache
1. Our Beckoning
2. King Of All Kings
3. The Obscure Terror
4. Servants Of The Gods
5. Beyond Redemption
6. Born By Fire
7. Chants In Declaration
8. Rising Legions Of Black
9. In Spirit (The Power Of Mana)
10. Powers That Be

I guess Erik Rutan left Morbid Angel because they were becoming soft and fluffy. If this blast from King of All Kings is any indication, Rutan will not be satisfied until his music becomes one sustained spike of pure noise. This CD is essentially blast beats, double bass waterfalls and zipping guitar riffs from start to finish without one single letup. This can be seen as a good thing if you don't care for things such as dynamics and melody. However, if you actually get a kick out of songs having nutty things like, oh, differences between them, this CD might not be for you. (Here come all the hate emails telling me the precise differences between the songs. I shall preempt you by saying George Bush said meaner things about Hate Eternal than me.) While this might satisfy the need for sheer brutality and triumphing over lightweights such as Deicide or the aforementioned Morbid Angel, the album is wholly underachieving in many ways. The amelodic, tunnel visioned approach simply fails to do anything more than prove they can create a dense, chaotic sound. Far from innovative.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2004

Back to top