Picture of Inhuman


Inhuman - Rebellion ©1999 Exit/Wreck-Age
1. Rebellion
2. Temporary
3. Too Far Gone
4. Fearless
5. Cursed
6. Invisible
7. I Despise
8. Outsider
9. Road To Nowhere
10. This Is Not An Exit

Hailing from the New York hardcore scene, Inhuman is thankfully very cliche free and that in itself makes this band a much more interesting project to hear. Nowhere on Rebellion are blatant odes to brotherhood, fighting or tattoos and instantly that makes me like this band a bit more than I might have otherwise. Inhuman doesn't particularly go out of their way to write ambitious music, but their vision of hardcore is rather well grounded in tradition and as a result, Rebellion is one of the better albums of the genre I can recall hearing. The approach is straight forward, relying on pure aggression and energy to propel the songs along. Frankly, this works. Michael Scondotto's vocals are a high pitched bark that occasionally reminds me of Mike Muir, at least in diction. As stated before, the music is pretty simple with mostly basic chords, but the jams are kicked out with great enthusiasm. There is a bit of a catchy edge to a lot of the songs, such as the crowd singalong invocation of "Invisible".

Standing well above a lot of the modern hardcore I've heard due to showing some semblance of intelligence in a scene populated by entirely too many "tough guys", Inhuman deserves attention from anyone who has a hankering for music that is honestly as tough as nails without adhering to jock nonsense.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 11/2000

Back to top 

Black Reign

Inhuman - Black Reign ©2002 Released Power Productions
1. Prelude To Misery
2. Life Is Miserable
3. Killing Me
4. Darker Than You Think
5. Uprising
6. Dwell (live)
7. Rebellion (live)

Re-emerging after some time away, New York's Inhuman has released this short little EP to remind people that they are still around and still kicking out the same jams as always. Black Reign is a collection of five studio tracks and two live songs to perhaps reignite interest in their brand of solid thrashy hardcore.

Black Reign is one of those albums that doesn't stick its neck out to either live dangerously on a musical razor blade edge like the Dillinger Escape Plan or completely submit to boring, formula-ridden generic stompcore. Instead, Inhuman takes the best of the thrash sound of the late 80s and melds it with a more modern hardcore mentality. This results in fast paced, crunchy songs that offer plenty of energy and kick. One gets the impression Inhuman comes up with this music with the stage presentation solely in mind and they certainly hint they can whip up a frenzy with the best of them. Singer Mike Scondotto mostly barks out his lyrics, but croons just a bit on "Life is Miserable", which hints at early Misfits. The two live songs are of adequate quality and at least give the curious an idea of what this band does onstage.

While Black Reign is short, it is certainly succinct. Those who like a straight ahead approach to hardcore, but wish to avoid the many lesser bands of the style, should give Inhuman a lookover. They might not be rewriting the handbook for the style, but they definitely are quite good at what they do.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/2003

Back to top 

New Nightmare

Inhuman - New Nightmare ©2003 A-F Records
1. Uprising
2. Brooklyn Bastards
3. Killing Me
4. Sinister
5. Eternal
6. Bloodlust
7. Darker Than You Think
8. No Great Reward
9. Life Is Miserable
10. Nightmare

If nothing else, Inhuman is sticking to their guns. Hot on the heels of last year's Black Reign EP, the new full length (assuming you consider a disc under thirty minutes to be full lenght) from New York's Inhuman sticks to the path the band has chosen for themselves. The New Nightmare features ten more blasts of metallized thrashy hardcore with just a hint of some horror business in the mix. For the most part, The New Nightmare is a fairly standard metalcore album with generally better riffs than many of their colleagues. The main focus of the band seems to be simply aggression and energy so the ten songs aren't too concerned with major variety. However, "Killing Me" stands out because of its cleanly sung melody and slight Misfits feel to it. The Misfits atmosphere could very well just be in my head, but I'm sticking to that theory for the moment. The album is well produced, giving them some good sound without sounding too terribly polished. The band seems to borrow equally from both New York's hardcore and thrash scenes, so there is also crossover appeal.

Inhuman seems quite content to sticking to their formula. Fortunately, it's a workable one that has given listeners a string of above average thrashcore with street feeling. You might not find the string bending guitar surgery of Botch here, but if you just want a straightforward, heavy hardcore album, this is a pretty good one to search out.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 08/2003

Back to top