Violent Resignation: The Great American Teenage Suicide Rebellion 1992

In/Humanity - Violent Resignation: The Great American Teenage Suicide Rebellion 1992 ©2000 Prank Records
1. Double Digit Fun
2. Teenage Suicide - Do It!
3. Emo Violence Generation
4. Too Drunk To Molotov
5. Super Plan B
6. We Are The Kids - 1
7. Against All Youth
8. We Are The Kids - 2
9. Dork Side Of The Force
10. Greener Eyes
11. If It's Wrong It's Real
12. Let There Never Be Another Song Ever Wrote (SIC)
13. Embrace Androgyny
14. Fuck The Death Penalty, Let's Compromise
15. Southern Swastika
16. Beaten Words
17. Burn It To The Ground
18. Three Flags Over Capitol City
19. Victim In Pain
20. Me And My Shadow
21. Kill It
22. No Thanks Mr. Roboto
23. If I Can't Have What I Want (I Don't Want Anything)
24. 1, 2, 3, 4
25. Modern Hate Vibe
26. Home Away From Home
27. Stupid Children
28. Las Machinas Intermission
29. Nuclear Winter Wonderland
30. Ins And Outs Of A Waste Of Flesh
31. Portion Of 130 Faces
32. Mystery Solved...history Behind The Mystery
33. The Execution Of Clive
34. New Discarced Evidence In The Case
35. Occultonomy
36. Oh No!
37. Nutty Antichrist
38. Kids In Cults
39. We're Sick Of Music And We Hate Each Other
40. Anakrinomphy
41. Silentest Night
42. Emotional Violence

To paraphrase Steve Martin, music is not pretty. Our living proof is this power violence/noisecore unit from South Carolina who have recently issued a career (I use the term loosely) retrospective compiling forty-two songs from their six year existence. This seventy minute CD covers a lot of ground and definitely will do much to assault, pummel and crush your eardrums in the process. In fact, those who can listen to the entire disc in one sitting without once wishing to shut off the stereo or switch to another CD get a bonus prize (er, I'll determine that prize at a later date). Even In/Humanity member Chris Bickel admits in the starkly honest liner notes that "we were an absolutely horrible be honest, I have trouble listening to it all the way through in one sitting". Bickel admits that little attention was paid to honing their style, loose as it is, and more attention was paid to honing an attitude. To that ends, In/Humanity was quite successful.

Much of the music is an all out blitz on the sense with the band playing nearly completely unhinged music that hangs by a thread. This sort of noise can be likened to perhaps Benümb or other noise/grind type bands. In/Humanity does have both a punkier edge as well as a morbid edge (look at some of the song titles, such as "Nuclear Winter Wonderland" or "Too Drunk to Molotov"). Occasionally they inserted strange sound samples that hailed Satan or demonstrated odd authority figures. Throughout the mess of tracks, it's not uncommon for a great riff or song to pop out as the assault rails on. While some of this music is nearly unlistenable or simply just too loose to connect, the band had quite a few interesting tracks in their machine gun setlist.

Overall, this is something that I do find difficult to completely wade through without searching for a lifeboat to float away from the chaos. There is more than enough intriguing music to make In/Humanity worth checking out, but you might want to ration out your length of listens to this band. Fans of noisecore and violent punk music should certainly check out In/Humanity, but I absolve myself from responsibility if this CD harms you in any way.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/2000

Back to top