The Jelly Jam

Picture of The Jelly Jam

The Jelly Jam

The Jelly Jam - The Jelly Jam ©2002 InsideOut Music
1. I Can't Help You
2. No Remedy
3. Nature
4. Nature's Girl
5. Feeling
6. Reliving
7. The Jelly Jam
8. I Am The King
9. The King's Dance
10. Under The Tree

With Derek Sherinian off twinkling his little keys in Planet X and solo efforts, the remaining three members of Platypus (guitarist/singer Ty Tabor, bassist John Myung and drummer Rod "Stuart loves me" Morgenstein) have reconvened as The Jelly Jam, a trio very reminscient of a certain other trio called King's X. But considering Tabor has been a member of that certain other trio for two decades, it should come as no surprise.

The Jelly Jam, the band's first record under this new moniker, is a surprisingly warm and inviting rock record that eschews any tendencies to wank, show off or otherwise flaunt the band's considerable talent. Instead, the band thankfully focuses on writing some plain ol' good songs. The obvious comparison can be found with King's X and yes, I'm taking the easy way out on that one. There are moments during the heavier songs where the band reminds me a bit of prime Alice in Chains, particularly in the vocal harmonies. The Jelly Jam does indeed venture into jamming territory here and there, but fortunately it doesn't turn into a debacle of a Phishy proportion. The songs are all strong, convey moods and atmosphere and remember to rock out once in awhile. You never get the impression that any of the songs were written when one member said, "Hey Rod, look what I can do on my instrument!" Thus, those who break out in small, contagious red pox whenever pretentious music rears its viral, ugly head can actually purchase this album without salve. Obviously fans of King's X will lap this up like pure cream and hard rock fans who enjoy a good, mildly adventurous and highly pleasant album should also check this out.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 08/2002

Back to top