Picture of Kittie


Kittie - Spit ©2000 Artemis/NG Records
1. Spit
2. Charlotte
3. Suck
4. Do You Think I'm A Whore
5. Brackish
6. Jonny
7. Trippin'
8. Raven
9. Get Off (You Can Eat A Dick)
10. Choke
11. Paperdoll
12. Immortal

Back in the bygone Tormentweb days, I had the pleasure of reviewing a three-track sampler for Kittie's forthcoming CD, Spit. As some of you may know, that little morsel received my two thumbs up (no not three), and I sagaciously predicted that if the rest of the anticipated album were as solid and dynamic as the teaser, then these girls would hit it big. Well, after favorable coverage in Spin Magazine, MTV news exposure, and an invasion into the Billboard 200, it appears that I nailed the target on both counts - was there any doubt? But, just because the press is eating up this all-female quartet doesn't mean they know a damn thing about heavier forms of music. A case in point: the following is an amusing quotation by Tanya L. Edwards of Spin Magazine:

"Blame Canada for some of the loudest, raunchiest grindcore ever to trudge across the border."

Grindcore?!? I'm sorry missy, but Kittie are not grindcore. Nor do they play rap-core, as others have haphazardly and fallaciously noted. Instead, Kittie are securely established as a hardcore-cum-metal band that makes some inroads into the nu-metal canker sore currently blighting our dear U S of A.

Spit begins with a demolition derby of a track, also titled "Spit". Crisp, unsophisticated rhythms with a healthy groove, fronted by an extremely versatile vocalist by the name of Morgan Lander, who methodically shifts between a frail, vulnerable clean voice and a death metal bellow that would probably scare Chris Barnes into finding another career. Songs like "Charlotte" and the introspective "Paperdoll" showcase her competent singing ability, while "Suck" and "Trippin" march onward ferociously with a pair of Burn My Eyes-era Machine Head riffs. The long trail of expletives towards the closing of "Suck" is bound to satisfy the Korn fans' latent desire for such nonsense. In fairness, the curses are appropriate for the context of the lyrics and music. "Brackish" will probably appeal to Korn fans most, featuring vocal arpeggios that resemble those of Coal Chamber's Dez Fafara. Musically, this and the other songs are rather formulaic and fairly predictable, but gripes become afterthoughts once you become enthralled with the sheer emotion generated by this release. I do not have the lyrics handy, but I would venture to guess that Kittie are not going to win any Pulitzer Prizes anytime soon. Titles such as "Do You Think I'm a Whore" suggest teen-angst and female insecurity subject matters, not thematically unlike Korn. Morgan says the lyrics are deeper and more profound than what the titles suggest, so I'm willing to give her the benefit of the doubt.

Spit is a compact, passionate fireball of an album, worth buying for the immediacy alone. In six months' time, Kittie will probably end up on my shelf of forgotten and forlorn CDs, but in the now, I'm happily enjoying what I consider the next best thing to System of a Down.

Review by Jeffrey Shyu

Review date: 01/2000

Back to top