Picture of Kvelertak


Kvelertak - Kvelertak ©2010 Indie Recordings
1. Ulvetid
2. Mjød
3. Fossegrim
4. Blodtørst
5. Offernatt
6. Sjøhyenar (Havets Herrer)
7. Sultans of Satan
8. Nekroskop
9. Liktorn
10. Ordsmedar av Rang
11. Utrydd dei Svake

Perhaps overshadowed by the more arson oriented black metal scene, Norway's "death n roll" or "black n roll" scene has been going strong for quite some time. No doubt most people are aware of the likes of Turbonegro, but there are many more bands in Norway who incorporate plenty of rock energy with the extreme metal decorations. In fact, when I was on tour working for Nomeansno in 2007, the week in Norway featured a different hard rocking band every night that featured a variation on this extreme approach to rock. Stavanger's Kvelertak is yet another example of this offshoot, but just so happens to be one of the best new bands to try their hand at this style.

Kvelertak has very deftly taken their influences that likely range from AC/DC all the way to Zyklon and mixed them into a quite forceful blend of hook-filled metallic anthems. Granted, minus the screamed vocals (which lean more towards the black metal influence than "screamo"...whatever the hell that is) these songs are just very heavy rock songs. Yes, they do kick it up from time to time to remind people that they come from the country that kickstarted 90s black metal, but all those hooks and memorable tunes will not remind anyone of latter day Emperor. Some have felt the band features a punk approach, but that's minimalized at best.

Featuring songs about Norse mythology (well, that's what informed people on the internet claim, since I don't understand Norwegian...or the fact that they bury fish for a year, dig it back up and eat it), Kvelertak is a well paced, high energy record that perfectly encapsulates a sound influenced by absorbing all the best rock and extreme influences. The record is very good. One can only imagine how much fun their live show is.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 11/2011

Back to top