For Kunsten Maa Vi Evig Vike

Kvist - For Kunsten Maa Vi Evig Vike ©1995 AvantGarde Music
1. Ars Manifestia
2. Forbannet Vaere Jorden Jeg Gar Pa
3. Stupet
4. Svartedal
5. Min Lekam Er Meg Blott En Byrde
6. Vettenetter

A fairly unremarkable piece of keyboard laced black metal. Busy with dense arrangements and essentially expected, predictable song structure, Kvist is one of those type of bands that is competent enough to play the style without causing great eruptions of laughter from the listener, but hardly innovative enough to blow a mind or two in the process. The music utilizes a good undercurrent in the rhythm to allow for a smooth ride, while the vocals and guitars do their usual troll shouting and semi-melodic, high end fretboard rides. The keyboards work very quietly, essentially the type that don't leap into your face but would be missed if they were not present. Unfortunately, acceptable musicianship aside, there isn't a lot to the songwriting to really catapult it to the first tier of black metal. Yes, the symphonic passage in the midde of "Min Lekam er Meg Blott en Byrde" is nice and none of the songs are so weak that I'm compelled to comment. It's just all very plain. Based on that, I really don't see any reason to recommend this to anyone but absolute fanatics of symphonic black metal.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/2000

Back to top