Long Winters Stare

Before The Dawn, So Go The Shadows Of Humanity

Long Winters Stare - Before The Dawn, So Go The Shadows Of Humanity ©1999 Dragon Flight Recordings
1. Blood Of The Nazarene
2. He Is Insane
3. War Epic
4. Carry On, My Wayward Son
5. Into The Darkness
6. Hounds
7. Remain Life Eternal
8. Into The Sun

Well, the fourth song is a Kansas cover. Piano plinks from behind the rest of the music during most of the album, livening it up some. The production is unmuddied enough for everything to be heard properly, and for a few seconds here and there, the clean vocals remind me of Roger Waters.

On the other hand, the drumming goes awry at several points in overly long songs, and the tempo shifts are often clumsy. What's more, the vocalist indulges in some hollering that make me think he would have been better suited for a career as a pirate.

This all evens out to a whole lot of frustration. There are occasional compelling bits, but they're buried in ten-minute expanses of repetition - just when I find myself getting into the music, it alienates me with mediocrity. Ultimately, there's not much I can say about this album, other than that there are more interesting ones clamouring for stereo time. I think I will heed their calls in the future.

Review by C. LeRoux

Review date: 04/2001

Back to top 

The Tears Of Odin's Fallen

Long Winters Stare - The Tears Of Odin's Fallen ©2000 Dark Symphonies
1. In The Hall Of Odin
2. Blood Of Steel
3. Blood Of My Fathers
4. Neolyth
5. In Arms
6. The Last Call
7. The Unknown God

If you're in the market for intensely slow, dirge driven music that has the same velocity as the Florida Nursing Home Racing Team, Long Winter's Stare is just the ticket for you. The Tears of Odin's Fallen is certainly one of the most molecule-slowing doom releases I've heard in quite some time. The band's quest to unleash a dismal, bleak and morose sound is very much realized on the album. Yet, regardless of the low end scraping, the band also sneaks in more than a few beautiful melodies in the lengthy songs. The vocals revolve between deathy utterings, palatable female vocals and occasional clean stylings. It is those occasional harmonies that are the real lure to this release. Just when the music's inherent lethargy nearly overtakes you, a sweet vocal melody snaps your attention back into listening. The band also weaves in the occasional keyboard sections that are fairly well done.

The one thing that might interest you in Long Winter's Stare could very well be the thing that fends off your interest as well. This sort of extremely plodding, dense and lumberous doom metal may lose the attention of many but enthusiasts of the genre (and you know darned well who you are) will find quite a bit to enjoy here. However, there is little crossover appeal to those who require a more compelling style of metal or hate it when bands slow down to this plodding tempo.

Good luck making it through the nearly twenty minute molasses soaked epic "The Unknown God" but overall this is a strong release for doom metal fans.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/2000

Back to top