Picture of Macabre

Murder Metal

Macabre - Murder Metal ©2003 Season Of Mist
1. Acid Bath Vampire
2. You're Dying To Be With Me
3. Fatal Foot Fetish
4. The Hillside Stranglers
5. Dorthea's Dead Folks Home
6. The Iceman
7. Poison
8. Werewolf Of Bedburg
9. Morbid Minister
10. The Wustenfeld Man Eater
11. Diary Of Torture
12. Jack The Ripper
13. Fritz Haarman Der Metzger

Macabre sure have been around for awhile but it appears that only in the past few years has the band gotten serious about their specific brand of true crime inspired thrashy death metal. I suppose that if your lyrical topics revolve entirely around various ways to murder someone, you truly are death metal. Macabre certainly doesn't sing about volunteering to read to elderly folks at the assisted living center. That's more Broken Hope territory anyhow.

The best thing about Macabre is that their music still has some roots in 80s thrash, although it's been heavily updated with a sound that has the slightly clinical feel of recent Mayhem. But don't take that as an insult. At times, Murder Metal sounds like a 2003 take on Whiplash's Ticket To Mayhem particularly with the fluid guitar playing and speedy basslines. This trio is extremely adept. Possibly the one stumbling block for some listeners is the wheezing vocals employed often throughout the album. Even though it doesn't specifically harm my enjoyment of this album, it does get tiresome by the time the CD ends. However, Macabre is smart to liven things up with various other cruel sounding voices as well as great nursery rhyme sing-song melodies. I don't suggest putting this CD on in your baby's room (unless you're striving to raise a serial killer), but for you and your demented adult friends, this is the just the thing.

Murder Metal is a very solid album, done by serious musicians who also know how to approach their music as though they don't take themselves too seriously. That sort of humble attitude is far too rare in metal today. Thus, this album is recommended and if you don't buy it, you'll become lyrical material for the next Macabre CD.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2004

Back to top