Machine Head

Picture of Machine Head

Burn My Eyes

Machine Head - Burn My Eyes ©1994 Roadrunner
1. Davidian
2. Old
3. A Thousand Lies
4. None But My Own
5. The Rage To Overcome
6. Death Church
7. A Nation On Fire
8. Blood For Blood
9. I'm Your God Now
10. Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies
11. Block

Well, this certainly is a far cry from Rob Flynn's previous band Vio-Lence (who featured one of the worst vocalists ever allowed to use a microphone). Taking his previous portfolio of being in possibly every band in the Bay Area Thrash Scene (actually, he was in Forbidden for a few minutes and drummer Chris Kontos was one of the people who stumbled into the Testament practice room while searching for the men's room) and expanding it with a very modern 90's sensibility (plus production quality unequaled up to that point), Flynn's new project Machine Head very easily took the metal world by storm and injected it with a much need boost of adrenaline. Machine Head is the leading purveyor of what I consider to be modern American metal and I'm sure that many a band that has cropped up in recent years has used this as a standard. Admittedly, this style is outside my preferred taste; however, you can't deny powerful, crushing music when you hear it. Each song is chock full of rhythms and guitar riffs designed to flatten bungalows at one hundred paces and Flynn's harsh roar is fortunately not a weak point (as with many bands who try to emulate this style). With the complexity of the songs it'll take a few listens before you really appreciate this, but it is definitely worth the god-like status given to it.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 04/1998

Back to top