Picture of

The Global Village

Madsword - The Global Village ©2000 Underground Symphony Productions
1. Connect
2. Time In The Ice
3. How Much Progress
4. Darkened Rooms
5. Living Hexadecimal
6. Mind?s Bug
7. Travelling Through A Wire
8. Behind The Consciousness Of Memory
9. A New Beginning

After a four-year hiatus, during which time they sought and found a new vocalist, Madsword came back to the progressive metal scene with this very well done disc. This disc is slick from start to finish. The tri-fold digipack depicts future scenes and gives you an indication, along with the title, as to what you're going to find inside. The liner notes are printed on very slick and glossy paper furthering the notion that this is going to be a slick disc.

Slick it is. The disc is a futuristic concept work that features some very technical and beautiful music. The band had established themselves as gifted players on Evolution. With The Global Village, they go further than the somewhat antiseptic feel of Evolution and inject some real warmth into the songs on this album. The emphasis on the melodies is very noticeable. Guitarist Gianni Guerra soars, but not to the detriment of the songs or the rest of the band. The music is heavy and subtle at the same time, atmospheric and busy. The drummer and bass guitarist lay down one of the most involved rhythm lines you'll ever hear. The drummer constantly changes his time signature without mussing up the melody and rhythm of the song. One listen to "Living Hexadecimal", the instrumental, will leave you breathless at the complexity of the play.

The theme of the album centers around the technical age which progresses sometimes at the expense of humanity. The music conveys the story wonderfully. Vocalist Andrea Bedin sings with passion and conviction. He emotes very well as he sings the story. Even if you could not understand him, you could still sense the emotion of the song. The play and the singing combine to make a wonderful musical package within the slick wrappings. Fans of Dream Theater, Fates Warning and older Queensryche will really appreciate this disc.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 04/2001

Back to top