Memento Mori

Rhymes Of Lunacy

Memento Mori - Rhymes Of Lunacy ©1993 Black Mark
1. The Rhyme
2. The Seeds Of Hatred
3. Morbid Fear
4. The Caravan Of Souls
5. Lost Horizons
6. When Nothing Remains
7. Forbidden Dreams
8. Little Anne's Not An Angel
9. Fear Of God
10. The Riddle
11. The Monolith

I honestly can't say Memento Mori is more than an also-ran band in the Swedish world of doom metal. Featuring Messiah Marcolin of Candlemass fame, Memento Mori is full of talent and ability but short on songs that are interesting to my ears. Part of the problem lies in having to deal with Marcolin's often overdramatic operatic wail. The second problems is with the riffs. Yes, they show that the guitarists are capable of handling their respective six strings with ease but they do not really speak anything more than that. The music comes across as far too workmanship and without deep feeling. I suppose Memento Mori might be of interest to hardcore fans of Candlemass but beyond that their appeal is relatively limited.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 05/1999

Back to top