Mental Horror

Proclaiming Vengeance

Mental Horror - Proclaiming Vengeance ©2002 Deathvomit/Necropolis
1. Intro Of Vengeance
2. Burning Alive
3. Genocidal Inquisition
4. Black Spiritual Void
5. Rising From Chaos
6. Screams Of Tiamat
7. Flagellum Forms
8. Anguish Seas
9. Tortured (Bleeding For The Plague)
10. Profane Spawn
11. Proclaiming Vengeance

Superfluous: "More than is wanted or is sufficient; rendered unnecessary by superabundance; unnecessary; useless; excessive", as defined by That definition could also be applied to Brazilian gutcore death metallists Mental Horror. Everything about Mental Horror represents the most unnecessary, redundant traits of their particular brand of death metal. Proclaiming Vengeance, the band's first full length release, is a festering mess of repetitive ideas and derivative musical approaches. In other words, everything Mental Horror offers has been done so many times that this particular field of death metal has become more saturated than your grandfather's Depends.

Mental Horror's style is defined by ultra-reliance on blast beats, extremely low gutteral grunting and a whirling blitz of blurry guitar playing. If you haven't heard this before, chances are you are quite new to death metal. It would behoove you to instead check out some early Carcass if you're curious about this sort of thing. Mental Horror, on the flipside, shows their entire hand on the first track and then feel compelled to keep recording more songs of the exact same thing. This style of music is already extremely limited in what one can do with it and Mental Horror simply provides more bombast for the filters.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 02/2004

Back to top