Picture of Morgion


Morgion - Solinari ©1999 Relapse
1. The Serpentine's Scroll/descent To Arawn
2. Canticle
3. Solinari
4. Nightfall Infernal
5. All The Glory
6. All The Loss
7. Blight
8. The Last Sunrise

Hopefully Morgion's music will never become the hold music for the 1-800 suicide hotline numbers. With an exceptionally depressive, oppressive and possibly even one more word ending in -sive music style, Morgion will not be very uplifting for those people already having bad lives. In fact, those having a good day are not going to feel quite so perky after listening to Solinari. So, you wonder, what is the appeal of a dark slab of music that is guaranteed to bring on Mr. Rainy Day face? Quite frankly, Morgion has captured a very strong emotional quality and presented it extremely well. The long, lush and crushing guitar and keyboard lines are key in creating their sound. There are hints - slight ones, though - of Fields of the Nephilim in the guitar lines. Vocally the utterances range from low, spoken heartache to a more standard death rasp. On a whole, the album is best listened to straight through without interruption or even attention to indvidual tracks. Solinari is very much a unified soundscape best appreciated by those who can submit to sheer morosity.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/1999

Back to top 

Cloaked By Ages, Crowned In Earth

Morgion - Cloaked By Ages, Crowned In Earth ©2004 Dark Symphonies
1. Cloaked By Ages
2. A Slow Succumbing
3. Ebb Tide (Parts I & II)
4. Trillium Rune
5. The Mourner's Oak
6. Cairn
7. She, The Master Covets
8. Crowned In Earth

With a prolific nature rivaling that of appearances of the town of Brigadoon, Morgion churns out yet another chunky slab of morose, brooding doom metal. Over the past five years since Solinari, Morgion has dealt with their fair share of issues ranging from Relapse's lack of priorities as well as various tragedies surrounding band members. However, perhaps it should be noted that for a doom band, good times will hardly provide inspiration. If the four guys in Morgion had nothing but giggles, frolicking forest animals and lottery winnings in their lives, do you think they could write a convincing doom album? No, they could not. In fact, they'd sound like a metal version of They Might Be Giants.

Anyhow, the changes within Morgion's lineup haven't resulted in a massive deviation in their approach. Although the urge to find the "last exit for the lost" has diminished, the band's sense of contemplative, slowly developing pensiveness is still quite intact. If you're the type who must have parallels to existing bands and/or albums in a review, Morgion's current sound could be likened just slightly to Anathema's The Silent Enigma. However, Morgion's clean singing is actually pretty good and does not cause cringing by listeners who like their singers to hold the tune. Morgion also pulls off a major coup by somehow incorporating just a touch of the truly unique mood on Bathory's Twilight of the Gods (assuming one focuses on the quieter passages where Quorthon dinked away on his acoustic guitar).

As with the last Morgion album, released in a world that didn't feature a maniac as the United States President and dot.coms were considered a great investment for the "new economy", Cloaked by Ages, Crowned in Earth will take awhile to assimilate and be drawn into. Morgion is not about instant gratification, which is why they're not featured on this year's Warped Tour. However, the effort is worth it. Let's just hope that we see another Morgion CD before 2010.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 07/2004

Back to top