Michael Schenker Group

Be Aware Of Scorpions

Michael Schenker Group - Be Aware Of Scorpions ©2001 Steamhammer
1. No Turning Back
2. My Time's Up
3. Fallen The Love
4. Because I Can
5. How Will You Get Back
6. Blinded By Technology
7. Age Of Ice
8. Standin' On The Road
9. Sea Of Memory
10. On Your Way
11. Reflection Of Your Heart
12. Roll It Over
13. Eyes Of A Child

I've been a fan of Michael Schenker since the early days of the Scorpions and UFO. UFO was one of my favorite hard rock bands from around the time they released Lights Out. Michael Schenker was one of the reasons I collected their albums along with the Scorpions. His guitar playing was always top notch.

As you can see by the discography, Michael Schenker has been extremely prolific in his writing. I bought the first two releases in vinyl in the 1980s. I listened to them and was sorely disappointed. My guitar hero was not much to my liking without the bands associated with him. I stopped listening to his music until the day I received this CD in the mail. Perhaps I need to take another look at his history.

This disc is very hard to classify. It is old school hard rock but it is also much, much, more mature than those releases of 1980 and 1981. The guitar work is still top notch, indeed, and it has gained in technicality and flair. But this isn't the old-fashioned "party 'til you puke" style of old school hard rock. One thing I have noticed among artists who are abundantly prolific is that their music generally lacks substance and depth. It feels like something slapped together at the last minute. I am pleased to say that this album does not have that feel. Somehow, Michael Schenker is visiting his roots, reinterpreting them and serving up something that is much more than tissue paper thin. The songs are not just vehicles for guitar pyrotechnics. There is a lot of maturity behind this disc. If you are looking for old school hard rock, this one will fit the bill nicely.

Michael Schenker has proven that everyone, including "aging" rock stars, eventually grows up.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 02/2002

Back to top