Mundanus Imperium

The Spectral Spheres Coronation

Mundanus Imperium - The Spectral Spheres Coronation ©1998 Nuclear Blast
1. Distant Conglomeration
2. The Life Of What You Seek
3. Beyond The Earthly
4. Starwars
5. Predominate
6. Stargazer
7. The Unborn Breathes In Silence
8. If The Universe Transformed

You'd think this band hailed from Wisconsin due to the amount of cheese displayed on this disc. In fact, I had to scrape off quite a bit of cheez-whiz before even inserting into the player. Mundanus Imperium tries oh-so-hard to be dramatic, grandiose and larger than life but instead come off as the tag-along little brother of all the better bands in the world. Jorn Lande, the vocalist, is probably the worst offender of them all due to his reliance on shlock melodramatic 80's vocals. A good voice is nice, powerful is twice as nice, but to cross the line into metal parody is a vice. The huge keyboard arrangements and attempts to be symphonic simply look like so much window dressing for the band. In the most basic terms, this band wallows in Spinal Tap territory, trying to exhume the worst trappings of the 80's metal scene mixed with the most pretensious nonsense of the 90's. I think I'd rather go deaf than sit through this again. Maybe less discerning Manowar fans will dig it.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/1998

Back to top