Night In Gales


Night In Gales - Sylphlike ©1995 Self-Released
1. Bleed Afresh
2. Sylphlike
3. Avoid Secret Vanity
4. Mindspawn
5. When The Lightning Starts
6. Flowing Spring

Apparently recorded as a demo, this snappy six song EP is actually quite a nice little piece of work. Germany's Night In Gales treads very much the same waters as At the Gates, Dark Tranquillity and others brandishing that guitar-melodic speedcore, so afficiandos of that scene should immediately perk up. One drawback, of course, is the gravel-shredded vocals of Björn Gooßes. I've said it before and I'll say it again: the best way to help yourself stand out from a crowded genre is to find a vocalist who doesn't shout like the rest. But it's only a minor drawback. Overall Night In Gales shows much promise and skill here. Though they aren't quite at the same level as a Dark Tranquillity (who, to me, still define what this subgenre is all about), their abilities are commendable. Worth digging up.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/1999

Back to top 


Night In Gales - Thunderbeast ©1998 Nuclear Blast
1. Intruder
2. Darkzone Anthem
3. Perihelion
4. Crystal Thorns Call
5. Feverfeast
6. The Shadow Chamber
7. Thunderbeast
8. I Am The Dungeongod
9. Blackfleshed
10. The Dustcrown
11. Stormchild
12. Heralds Of Starfall
13. From Ebony Skies (Thunder Version)

Night In Gales are one of those band that fall into farm club leagues when it comes to music. What they do try their hardest, but just don't quite make it to the big leagues. In Night in Gales case, these boys are working hard to capture that Dark Tranquillity/In Flames melodic death metal vibe but they just don't quite have the ability either in songwriting or musical execution to be in the same playing field. Don't get me wrong. This isn't by any means bad. There is talent here and a lot of promise that NiG can develop into a pretty big hitter down the road. It's just that their album will mostly appeal to those who must have any and every release in this particular subgenre.

The main strengths of the band lie in their ability to find a groovy main riff, like the one used in "Perihelion". They do craft some metal lead solos over top. Moreover, each listen does endear the album to the listener. My main beef is with the bush league hoarse yell vocals that are so common and frankly overdone in this style. "The Shadow Chamber", which is beautifully thrashy and contains nice song progression, would benefit from a vocalist who just doesn't shred his larynx. Hopefully the next album or two will show some evolution for the band as they do have a lot of promise.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/1998

Back to top 


Night In Gales - Nailwork ©2000 Nuclear Blast
1. Nailwork
2. Blades To Laughter
3. Wormsong
4. All Scissors Smile
5. How To Eat A Scythe
6. Black Velvet
7. Filthfinger
8. The Tenmiletongue
9. Hearselights
10. Down The Throat
11. Quicksilverspine

It is never a good sign when the first few minutes of a CD by artist X make the listener utter "Ha! They really know their Artist Y, and they've listened to Artist Z quite a bit." In this case, X is Night In Gales, Y is Amorphis, and Z is just about everybody else in the grunt-and/or-sing metal genre, from Slayer to Orphanage to Machine Head to In Flames to you-name-it. The riffs are sometimes catchy, mostly because they are often slightly altered versions of other riffs written by other bands (Iron Maiden in the bridge of "Blades to Laughter", Orphanage, Pantera in "Wormsong", etc). The dual hoarse shout plus clean vocal attack ("All Scissors Smile") would be an interesting concept, but was already done by the German band Depressive Age, with a killer live show to boot. Processed vocals ("How to Eat a Scythe", which wins the prize for the cool song title of the year) are a nice touch, but again there's nothing new here.

The sung voice is as good, warm and pleasing to the ear as the shouts and grunts are really hard on the listener - but not the way other grunts are meant to be grating; these grunts are apparently grunted by somebody who shouldn't be grunting. The guitars are a tad too fuzzy and lack the razor-sharp attack that made Orphanage's By Time Alone so sonically exciting, and the drums are mixed a little low. The artwork suffers from the same shortcomings; it's a neat idea botched by a less-than-professional graphic artist (or professional, but in the wrong profession). The cover of Alannah Myles' hit "Black Velvet" is entertaining, but only because it's a good song to begin with, not because of Night In Gales.

Why anyone would want to listen to this record is beyond me. Not that there's anything terribly wrong with it; rather, there's nothing compellingly right.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 09/2000

Back to top