Greatest Hits

N.W.A. - Greatest Hits ©1996 Priority Records
1. Live Intro (1989)
2. Arrested (insert)
3. Gangsta Gangsta
4. F*** Tha Police (insert)
5. F*** Tha Police
6. Compton's In The House (live)
7. Break Out (insert)
8. Straight Outta Compton (extended Mix)
9. If It Ain't Ruff
10. Real Niggaz
11. I Ain't Tha 1
12. Alwayz Into Somethin'
13. Don't Drink That Wint
14. Just Don't Bite It
15. Cash Money (insert)
16. Express Yourself (remix)
17. 100 Miles And Runnin'
18. A Bitch Iz A Bitch
19. Real Niggaz Don't Die

For the unaware, N.W.A were the self-proclaimed "World's Most Dangerous Group," comprised of the late Eazy E and Ice Cube, and produced by Dr. Dre. Releasing a handful of albums and singles in the 1980s, they were and still are synonymous with hardcore gangsta rap. While Public Enemy were sonic architects as much as they were socialist rappers, N.W.A were out to scare the crap out of everybody, and they did.

Angry, violent, misogynistic, the lyrics don't spare anybody and paint a bleak picture of the black community's existence in big cities. Eazy E's and especially Ice Cube's rhymes and delivery are almost always brilliant, coherent and in-your-face, and are guaranteed to stick in your head - nothing like some of the shoddy ad-libbing that can be heard on other rap records. The production is sometimes a little weak but always sparse and brutal, and it has the advantage of making the vocals stand out clearly.

This greatest hits is a goldmine for anybody unwilling to track down all of their uneven output. And it's not just sociologically important - it's also a great record when one is in one of those moods.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 10/2000

Back to top