Picture of Paganizer

Promoting Total Death

Paganizer - Promoting Total Death ©2001 Forever Underground
1. Promoting Total Death
2. Brutal Way To Die
3. Only Ashes Remain
4. 16 Second Massacre
5. At War
6. All Hope Is Dead
7. Cyclone Of Human Atrocity
8. Life Slips Away
9. Pain Has A Face

Paganizer is a three piece Swedish death metal outfit, but certainly that much could have been surmised by checking out the title of their new release, Promoting Total Death. Their sound is a basic death-thrash attack that may remind some of Bolt Thrower in their heyday. The nine songs here are all very similar, somewhat groove-laden and monotonous by the middle of the CD as there is little variety in their songwriting. The vocals are standard, low grunting and rasping, with little variety while the music is mostly riff-oriented with waterfalls of double bass drums underscoring everything. I get the feeling that death metal fanatics may find this interesting, particularly those who are prone to the more brutal and less technical aspect of the subgenre. There are definitely lesser acts out there so Paganizer may indeed find a small and deserved audience with their brand of death.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 07/2001

Back to top