Power Symphony

Picture of Power Symphony


Power Symphony - Evillot ©1999 Radiation
1. Battles In The Twilight
2. Shores Of My Land
3. Evillot
4. The Curse Of Every Man
5. Inferno Suite
6. I Am The Bard

This is a very difficult disc to classify. Sounding a bit like a cross between Nightwish and Rage, Power Symphony bridge the gap between Epic fantasy metal and doomy gothic metal. I don't know that the gap needed to be bridged per se, but the sound is very captivating nonetheless. The sound is a blend of a dark power metal mixed with Celtic melodies and themes.

The band's front person, Michela D'Orlando has had three years formal opera training. She states in a recent interview that Power Symphony is an attempt to break away from the recent glut of "happy" metal bands from Italy. Bands like Italian contemporaries Rhapsody have the good versus evil themes running through their symphonic epics. Power Symphony depicts the same thing in a much darker light. They also wanted to explore classical themes in a much heavier element. To a limited extent they succeed in their ambitions. Rage utilizes the classical elements far better than Power Symphony, and Nightwish utilizes the operatic better. In trying to unite the two things under a heavy metal umbrella proves to be too great a task for this first disc.

The disc does succeed in weaving a unified feel through the songs both musically and in the lyrics. It could be called a concept disc since it comes full circle in the words. It is doomy and gloomy from the get go and concludes its journey as lost as it began. In that aspect, it excels the "happy" metal that Power Symphony were trying to offset. Musically, there is a lot of power / speed metal with slow interludes and atmospheric keys. The vocal melodies are well done, but they fall far short of what D'Orlando is capable of producing as evidenced on Lightbringer, their second disc.

Since this is a debut, the shortcomings are perhaps excusable. The theme is well thought out but the execution falls short. If you are interested in Power Symphony, look to Lightbringer.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 10/2000

Back to top 


Power Symphony - Lightbringer ©2000 Pavement
1. The Way Of The Sword
2. Lucifer
3. Gethsemane
4. Never Dream Of Goodness (Evillot Pt. II)
5. Song Of Men
6. Quest For Knowledge
7. The Necromancer

With this release, Power Symphony manage to step forward toward the band they are trying to be. This disc exceeds Evillot in every way and shows us a band that will be producing some really exceptional music if they continue in the direction in which they are heading.

The music is much more complex. It is filled with layers and more than a passing nod is given to the classical influences that were the original inspiration behind the song writing of Evillot. The vocal melodies are better and more layered. All of the shortfalls of Evillot are addressed in the production, composition and play on this disc.

Again the songs are darker in tone and word than what has been coming out of Italy by way of melodic power metal bands. The words are more somber than those sung by the fearless knights of virtue known as Rhapsody. Folks who have been disappointed with the latest releases from Therion might want to give Power Symphony a look. The Celtic influence is greater in this disc as well. The melodies are woven together in such a way as to bring a far more cohesive feel to the disc. The tone of the melodies gives this disc a fresh appeal. There is plenty of gloomy gothic metal out there, but Power Symphony rises to the top by trying to do things in a different way than the run of the mill. It is very hard to find innovative music like this.

Fans of The Gathering or Lacuna Coil and recent Theater of Tragedy will want to give Power Symphony a listen. Lightbringer is a good example of melodic progressive power metal. As a second release, it shows a lot of promise for the future releases from the band. If you only buy one Power Symphony disc, this is the one I'd recommend.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 10/2000

Back to top