Picture of Radiohead

I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings

Radiohead - I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings ©2001 Capitol
1. The National Anthem
2. I Might Be Wrong
3. Morning Bell
4. Like Spinning Plates
5. Idioteque
6. Everything In Its Right Place
7. Dollars And Cents
8. True Love Waits

After a virtual deluge of releases over the past year and a half, Radiohead chooses to showcase the material from their last two albums, Kid A and Amnesiac, on this eight song collection of live recordings entitled I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings. Based on various bootlegs floating around in MP3 format on the internet, I have grown somewhat fond of Radiohead as often I find their live presentation to be far more appealing and vibrant than the studio counterparts. I Might Be Wrong does a good job of filling a void for less enterprising fans by putting together a live package, although it's not a perfect release by any means. Production-wise, the eight songs here are obviously very well recorded and capture the band in fine form at any of the four locations where live recording took place. What is missing is the cohesive, uninterrupted full show vibe that some of the MP3 bootlegs offer. Moreover, the material presented here seems to be focusing entirely on the previous two albums, which represents a departure for Radiohead in the first place. The good news for those who were put off a tad by the last two studio albums is that the live versions of these songs contain more warmth and life than the studio versions. Plus, as a bonus, "True Love Waits", apparently a longtime live favorite that hadn't been officially released on a studio album, finishes out the CD so fans have at least a bit of new music to interest them.

I Might Be Wrong is a good addition to any hardcore Radiohead fan's collection. Admittedly, the various bootlegs floating around on the internet do offer a better representation of Radiohead, but for those who wish to actually get their hands on official product, I Might Be Wrong does a snappy job.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2002

Back to top