Rammstein - Sehnsucht ©1997 Motor Music/Slash
1. Sehnsucht
2. Engel
3. Tier
4. Bestrafe Mich
5. Du Hast
6. Bück Dich
7. Spiel Mit Mir
8. Klavier
9. Alter Mann
10. Eifersucht
11. Küss Mich (fellfrosch)
12. Engel (english Version)
13. Du Hast (english Version)

I get the impression that if Germany ever decided to take over the world again, Rammstein will be their marching music. Heck, after a couple listens I feel like dominating my own borders. This is some stirring stuff! Honestly, I'm quite amazed I've been hearing them on mainstream radio as their lyrics are in German (are there any other radio bands that sing in non-English getting this sort of airplay?), but with the power and might of their music I'm sure you'll hear more of them. Featuring the riffs Metallica wishes they had written as wells as some deep, ominious vocals, the industrial militaristic Rammstein has got it down. "Engel" and "Du Hast" are both so insidiously catchy that it'll take cranes to get it out of your head. Keyboards are employed very lightly throughout and occasionally have an "X-Files" feel to them. There are occasional female voices (reminding me of the way In the Nursery uses the female voice) but the overall feel is one of conquest. I'd wager these boys have a Laibach record or two in their collection. Chances are I'll play this ad nauseum in the next few weeks, get tired of it and find something new, but at the moment, this is one of the better CDs I've heard in awhile.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 09/1998

Back to top 


Rammstein - Mutter ©2000 Universal
1. Mein Herz Brent
2. Links 234
3. Sonne
4. Iche Will
5. Feuer Frei
6. Mutter
7. Speilhur
8. Zwitter
9. Rein Raus
10. Adios
11. Nebel

Chances are a band cannot tour endlessly on the legs of a surprising hit album for more than, say, three years. Eventually you have to release another album so you can continue to impress audiences everywhere with your wild stage show. In the case of Rammstein, the time has come to release another set of songs as an excuse to continue touring. Their live show has become something of legend, often stealing the show from better known headliners. However, in the studio, Rammstein has proven they aren't terribly capable of coming up with exciting new ideas to complement their visuals and live pyrotechnics.

Mutter is nearly a carbon copy of 1997's Sehnsucht. The album features rejected Metallica riffs, Laibach's militaristic atmosphere and more of those sinister, oppressive sounding vocals. Those vocals, still offering listeners a lesson in German, are a bit of a headache now. The vocalist tends to over-enunciate each and every syllable. Worse yet, if you are listening to this album while someone knowledgeable in German translates, the sinister sounding words become maudlin and trite. And within the first few songs, you also realize that there aren't as many memorable, anthemic songs that will at least make Mutter an equal of Sehnsucht. The album has a feel of something slapped together on an assembly line in order to simply get a new product out. Perhaps those who never bought a Rammstein album before might enjoy this but for everyone else, this is just redundant and unessential. Save your money for a ticket to a Rammstein concert instead.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 07/2001

Back to top