Killing Ground

Saxon - Killing Ground ©2001 Steamhammer
1. Intro
2. Killing Ground
3. Court Of The Crimson King
4. Coming Home
5. Hell Freezes Over
6. Dragon's Lair
7. You Don't Know What You've Got
8. Deeds Of Glory
9. Running For The Border
10. Shadows On The Wall
11. Rock Is Our Life

Saxon is a band that belongs to the original group of artists that comprised the NWOBHM movement in the late 1970s. They have released album upon album of mediocre music since a rip roaring beginning, causing fans to wonder if there would ever be another Saxon album worth buying. That time finally came when they revitalized themselves with the release of Metalhead in 1999.

It looks as if things are still on the upswing for Saxon once more. This album is sharp and well defined in every aspect. The sound and feel of this album range from the power metal that harks back to Saxon's earlier days to progressive tracks that border on an epic, anthem feel. There are even a few moments when the band cuts loose with a bluesy riff that compels the shoe to tap. This disc is yet another fine example of how those veteran bands who choose to grow and mature can still release exceptionally good music.

Outstanding on the disc is track four, "Coming Home." I truly appreciate the amalgam of blues and metal and this track nails it squarely. "Deeds of Glory," track eight, is also noteworthy as one of the best "sing-along" songs you'll hear.

Killing Ground stands, in my opinion, as the sophomore effort of a reborn Saxon. As such it has to prove itself on many levels. In this case, Saxon succeeds in producing a solid album. I think there is much for fans to enjoy and give them hope for the future of these stalwarts of the NWOBHM.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 02/2002

Back to top