Picture of Shadow


Shadow - Shadow ©2001 Century Media
1. The Arrival At The Last Quarter
2. Lunar Eclipse
3. Eden
4. Weep For The Sin
5. Beyond The Drizzly Nights
6. The Reunion In The Soul Asylum
7. Breath Of Awakening
8. Observes From The Satellite
9. Towards Obsession

Detroit knows far too well the ability of the Japanese people to take on existing formulas and refining them. Hence the swarms of Japanese built cars that many folks prefer to purchase. I drive a Nissan, for instance. Now we have Japanese bands taking on the old formula of melodic Swedish death metal.

Shadow is a five-piece outfit whose self-titled debut is very, very reminiscient of older Dark Tranquillity (think of the Skydancer era meeting the production of The Gallery) and perhaps older In Flames as well. What we have on this debut is an extremely familiar style being simply refined with absolutely nothing new added to it. Moreover, Shadow has pre-empted the excitement of Arch Enemy recruiting a female vocalist for their new album with their very own female vocalist. But to let you in on a little secret, if you aren't aware of the gender of the vocalist, you won't realize it by listening to this CD. This lady, if I may call her that, sounds very much like Michael Stanne or Anders Friden, assuming you are listening to their younger days when their rasps were mostly higher pitched. Unlike essentially every other female-fronted metal band these days, Tokiko Shimamoto sounds as though she could hold her own in a bar brawl. No lacy, frilly über-estrogen-inflamed wispy singing here. The music presented here, as stated earlier, is absolutely nothing you haven't heard other countless bands do, but I'll give Shadow credit in that this is very well done and expertly played. In other words, while they're as derivative as the next imitation, Shadow is good enough at what they do that fans of the style will indeed enjoy this album for what it is, which is a totally solid melodic death metal record with a bevy of tasteful leads and crunchy, aggressive songs. With some foresight, perhaps Shadow will develop their own individual, identifiable style and step out of the Shadows of their influences on future releases.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 07/2001

Back to top