Disembody: The New Flesh

Skinlab - Disembody: The New Flesh ©1999 Century Media
1. So Far From The Truth
2. Know Your Enemies
3. No Sympathy (for The Devil)
4. Scapegoat
5. Breathe
6. I Name My Pain
7. Excellerate
8. Coward
9. Second Skin: New Flesh
10. Looks Can Be Deceiving

The second go-around for the Bay Area outfit Skinlab shows them treading very familiar waters and stomping grounds that already show the bootprints of many other 90's thrash outfits. In some aspects this CD is quite admirable. The production is simply devastating with Andy Sneap putting all instruments properly in place and with truckloads of sonic aggression powering the angry music. Skinlab is also quite capable of handling their instruments with the best of them. One problem, though. By the time you reach "Scapegoat", you feel like you've heard it all and the band has musically shot their load. With exceptions like the haunting, somber guitar that opens "I Name My Pain" or the spoken word sample in "No Sympathy (For the Devil)", the chugga-chugga low-tuned riffs and hoarse choked vocals and all that dressing just fail to grab your throat and properly throttle it. While Machine Head/90's thrash fanatics will find much to enjoy here, it just isn't unique or devastating enough to really knock down walls.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 02/1999

Back to top