Soulscar - Abandoned ©2000 Self-Released
1. SSRI[intro]
2. Cutter
3. Your Absence, My End
4. Abandoned
5. Ever Alone
6. This Was My Life
7. Selfmutilation
8. Bliss Killer
9. Escaping
10. Terminal Prayer
11. Deathbringer/Surrender
12. Escaping
13. Lost In Life

Soulscar is a thrashy, deathy sort of duo originating from Vancouver, BC, home of Annihilator, NoMeansNo and many other noteworthy illuminaries of the music scene. Soulscar (whose name reads either as "Soul Scar" or "Souls Car", depending on your mood) has a portfolio so far of a couple demos and this current six song recording. Fortunately for those who already feel the need to vehemently collect Soulscar material, Abandoned appends on demo tracks from their 1998 and 1999 sessions after the six Abandoned tracks. So you really get a feel for the sound of this band throughout the entire CD as it essentially encompasses their growth.

Soulscar's sound on Abandoned is a mix between certain melodic Swedish death metal guitar riffing blended with a thrashy feel from the late 80s. The vocals are very rough rasps and possibly the weakest link in the duo's chain of sound. The pair does still create a noisy din. While the production is able to capture the essence of most of the songs here, there is a lot of echo and garage-styled noise to be heard. However, this demo was recorded in something like eighteen hours, so that is to be expected. But even with the very unpolished sound, the songs do shine through. I won't go as far as to say this is the second coming of any pidgeonholed genre, but the band is able to write riffs that can hook a listener. Soulscar could appeal to those who liked rougher and noisier thrash bands of the late 80s or those who want a less polished Swedish melodic death metal band. Given the promise of Abandoned and its accompanying bonus demo tracks, it should be interesting to see where Soulscar heads in their future recordings.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2001

Back to top