Dan Swanö


Dan Swanö - Moontower ©1998 Black Mark
1. Sun Of The Night
2. Patchworks
3. Uncreation
4. Add Reality
5. Creating Illusions
6. The Big Sleep
7. Encounterpoints
8. In Empty Phrases

Get on your bell bottoms and feather your hair back because it's time to hear death metal done the '70s prog way! Dan "Yeah, I'm in the credits" Swanö has resurfaced after leaving his Edge of Sanity day job (or was it night job...what exacty does Dan do?) and quite possibly released one of the very best albums of his career. And considering his prolific nature, that is saying something. Simply put, Moontower makes for the perfect follow up to the EoS Purgatory Afterglow/Crimson era. Without the encumberance of a fully democratic band, Dan is allowed to pursue his interest in progressive rock of two decades past. Throughout the work, keyboards are directly piped in from the Kansas, Rush, Genesis and Marillion warehouses. Coupled with the heavy guitars and roaring vocals, it really does sound like Edge of Sanity as recorded by a progressive rock band. Dan doesn't mess with too many clean vocals on the effort, but that's just fine. I've always considered his growls to be some of the best in the biz. Not only that, his composition skills are top notch. Though some are unable to effectively write songs in a bottle (ask John Lennon and Paul McCartney how well they fared without one another), Dan is able to not let personal self-indulgance cloud some very memorable songs. I probably should break out the lip balm now since I seem to be kissing Dan's fanny extensively here, but frankly this is one of the best albums of 1998 and Dan's best effort since Purgatory Afterglow.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 11/1998

Back to top