Talk Talk

The Partyís Over

Talk Talk - The Partyís Over ©1982 EMI
1. Talk Talk
2. Itís So Serious
3. Today
4. The Partyís Over
5. Hate
6. Have You Heard The News
7. Mirror Man
8. Another World
9. Candy

In its earliest incarnation, Talk Talk existed as nothing more than a very standard synth-pop band within the vast quagmire of a burgeoning new wave scene, but for all its derivative, blatantly poppy and hook-laden aspirations, The Partyís Over exists as a completely enjoyable entry in the field of synth-driven pop music. Even then, Mark Hollisí vocals were distinctive and simply beautiful to behold, and the synth arrangements were as catchy as can be. While it was apparent that with the acquisition of then-Duran Duran producer Colin Thurston (Tim Friese-Green, who would produce every Talk Talk album from Itís My Life to their final two masterpieces, Spirit of Eden and Laughing Stock, had yet to join the band as an unofficial collaborator) the band was poised to recreate the success of other, more erstwhile bands, it would only be a matter of time before they would forge a path all their own and become something truly special.

Review by Alec A. Head

Review date: 06/2007

Back to top 

Itís My Life

Talk Talk - Itís My Life ©1984 EMI
1. Dum Dum Girl
2. Such A Shame
3. Renee
4. It's My Life
5. Tomorrow Started
6. The Last Time
7. Call In The Night Boy
8. Does Caroline Know?
9. It's You

It's My Life, Talk Talk's second album, boasts a considerably richer sound quality than The Party's Over, not to mention the inclusion of some acoustic instruments to add a little warmth to the cold and clinical nature of their ever-trusty synths. Do not be mistaken, however, as the album is a new-wave synth-pop album through and through, albeit a damned good one. The title track, despite it being covered by a certain very famous blonde pop singer, is still driving and catchy, and the rest of the tracks are considerably less samey than before, with an emphasis on very subtle changes in mood and dynamics that would later become their forte.

With the acquisition of producer/collaborator Tim Friese-Green, it would only be a matter of time before Mark Hollis would the lead the band to hitherto unexplored territory.

Review by Alec A. Head

Review date: 12/2007

Back to top