Geoff Tate

Geoff Tate

Geoff Tate- Geoff Tate ©2002 Sanctuary
1. Flood
2. Forever
3. Helpless
4. Touch
5. Every Move We Make
6. This Moment
7. In Other Words
8. A Passenger
9. Off The TV
10. Grain Of Faith
11. Over Me

Let's make this quick: This album is awful.

After releasing Promised Land, the band's masterpiece and one of the best albums of the 1990s, Queensryche turned into mush, releasing one artistic failure after another. Based on this flat collection of relatively varied but uniformly uninspired rock songs, it appears that Tate was largely responsible for his band's downfall (unless all the band members fell prey to the same creativicidal virus).

The songs are sluggish emotional rock, and more often than not sound as though they were strung together out of basic strummed chords or basslines and a melody improvised in the shower at 3 am and quickly recorded lest nothing better should surface. The performances are lackluster: the bass is occasionally intonationally challenged, the buildups don't really build up to anything dynamically exciting ("Every Move We Make"), and even Tate's legendary voice sounds affected and full of post-alternative mannerisms.

This is a major disappointment from one of my favorite singers, and it doesn't bode well for Queensryche's future.

Review by Rog The Frog Billerey-Mosier

Review date: 07/2002

Back to top