Ten Foot Pole


Ten Foot Pole - Rev ©1994 Epitaph
1. Never Look Back
2. My Wall
3. Old Man
4. Fade Away
5. World's Best Dad
6. Co-song
7. Closer To Grey
8. Final Hours
9. Muffled
10. Broken Bubble
11. Dying Duck In A Thunderstorm
12. Think Of Tomorrow
13. Pete's Farm

The debut album from Ten Foot Pole is an above average album that doesn't quite fall prey to the usual wolves of the pop-punk scene. Though TFP had a tendency to remind me a bit of Guttermouth throughout, their snappy sense of guitar rhythms cut through and give them a tiny bit more identity. Singer Scott Radinsky (a.k.a. Scott Pullmyfinger, currently pitching for the LA Dodgers) is adequate, though he sometimes gets too whiny for me. But the manic speed of "Old Man", "Co-Song" and "Broken Bubble" are sure to keep you tapping them toes and bobbing your head.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/1998

Back to top 


Ten Foot Pole - Unleashed ©1997 Epitaph
1. Fiction
2. John
3. It's Not Me
4. Denial
5. What You Want
6. Daddy
7. Damage
8. Too Late
9. Excuses
10. Pride And Shame
11. Regret
12. Hey Pete
13. A.D.D.

One of the biggest problems I found with the punk rock scene as a whole is the lack of real originality or at the very least, spunk, in many of the bands. When I first was introduced to the scene years ago, I did a lot of backtracking and discovered a ton of great bands from the early 80's up to the early 90's. But with the advent of the Bad Religion/Pennywise melodic pop-punk sound, it seemed that many bands were far too content to rest in the accomplishments of others and never find a distinct sound for themselves. Ten Foot Pole, it must be stated, is the first new (well, relatively speaking, the band has been around for sometime as Scared Straight) band that actually has me excited and wanting to hear more.

Though TFP fits firmly in the Epitaph/Fat Wreck Chords melodic-punk classification, the band's approach to songwriting sets them firmly apart. Rather than bludgeon through basic riffs, guitarists Dennis and Scott's clever use of rhythms put this album over the top. Not only that, drummer Tony is by far one of the fastest around and has a knack for shifting gears midsong without causing any loss of momentum. And that is what makes this band so damned fun to listen to...not many bands can suddenly double the speed of the song and still retain the fluidity that TFP does. Even better, songs like "Excuses" and "Hey Pete" use acoustic and clean guitars to create a feel of variety throughout the album. Dennis, who now handles vocals as well, sounds like the superhero of the kids who are outcast in elementary school.

If you haven't figured it out by now, I love the hell out of this album and it's going to be seeing a lot of playing time in my car and at home when I feel like getting pumped up.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/1998

Back to top