Tertium Non Data

Hers Is Blood

Tertium Non Data - Hers Is Blood ©2001 Crowd Control Activities
1. I Know You Will
2. Final Resting Place: Snow
3. Box-golden Section
4. Low
5. Box-inside
6. Hers Is Blood
7. Angelbox Closed
8. Wisdom
9. Blackness Burning
10. When The Levee Breaks

This curious entity known as Tertium Non Data is in fact a duo of gentlemen, John Bergin and Brett Smith. However, their music on Hers is Blood, the duo's second release, is anything but gentle. Oh sure, it has that mask of serenity but it doesn't take long for the album to shatter that mirage and lead unwitting listeners into a deeply disturbed, surreal world.

With a sound that incorporates some of the mechanical noise of 80s Controlled Bleeding, a trip-hop hint from Portishead and the ability to create musical tension the same way a successful suspense film soundtrack might, Tertium Non Data is very successful in this creation. Hers is Blood features guest vocals from Pam Bricker, a noted jazz singer, on four tracks and sensual vocals from Lori Demanche on "Wisdom". Both of their contributions add to the height of tension of the music, particularly when matched with throbbing industrial noises. Occasionally the music reminds me a bit of incidental music heard on Skinny Puppy and their side projects, most notably Hilt. The surprise of the album is a cover of Led Zeppelin's "When the Levee Breaks", which is strangely true to the original yet adding a deeper sensuality and soul with Bricker's passionate vocals.

Hers is Blood is not an easy listen, but amongst all the cinematic flair, it is a rewarding album all the same. This is the type of album you play right before bedtime to ensure nightmares in your sleep.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 09/2001

Back to top